A pop a day keeps boredom away!

I have big plans to do a “cheesecake week” in the near future. I figure I’ll work out a good recipe for a cheesecake base and spend the week playing with it. In the meantime, there’s this:

I saw this Philly chocolate stuff in the store about a week ago and knew I had to try it. It’s delicious on its own, but it was clear to me that it’s true purpose is to make ice pops:

I thinned out a large spoonful of the chocolate with a generous splash of milk. I expected the finished product to taste and feel like a colder version of the spread, but I was wrong. Freezing the mixture intensified the chocolate flavor, while the slight tang of the cream cheese faded further into the background.

The real revelation, though, was the texture. It was soft and creamy, exactly like the pudding pops I ate as a kid. I’ve been trying to achieve this texture in my actual pudding pops without success, but this pop nails it. I’m sure it has something to do with the preservatives and stabilizers in the premade mix, but I’m hoping I can recreate it when I make my own, chemical-free cheesecake base someday.

Given how easy this pop was to make and how very delicious it was, I can seem some variations of it in the future. It’s just too good to wait a year to try again.

Comments on: "Day 43 — Chocolate Cheesecake Ice Pops" (1)

  1. I just tried this… Best. Pop. Ever.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

