A pop a day keeps boredom away!

Oh, y’all, I had so much fun making today’s pops! I’d been plotting them as a Valentine treat for days, so I was seriously bummed when my Zoku was temporarily out of commission yesterday.

But today everything was set, and so:

Frozen strawberries, chocolate, shortening. Not pictured: sugar and water

I started out making a strawberry puree. Since this was definitely meant to be a dessert pop, I added about a tablespoon of sugar to my cup or so of strawberries, plus about 1/4 cup of water to thin out the puree.

I poured the pops using my Valentine’s present from my wonderful husband. He noticed how much I liked my two-cup OXO measuring cup for pouring pops, so he got me two smaller ones so I don’t have to keep washing it out between layers of pops (they have these great pointy spouts that pour really neatly). I love that boy.

Better than any box of chocolates could be.

While the pops were freezing, I mixed up the chocolate. The Zoku blog has a recipe for a chocolate mixture that hardens when it gets cold, and I adapted it (I didn’t have the coconut oil the original recipe calls for, so I used shortening).

Once the pops were frozen, then the fun started. I dipped one on chocolate, I drizzeled one with a spoon, and I used a snipped-off sandwich bag to pipe designs on the third. They each turned out very different, but all really cute:

From left: drizzeled, dipped and piped.

I can’t even tell you how much fun I had decorating these pops, especially the one using the bag to pipe the chocolate on. I liked it so much that I doodled a little heart on my dipped pop.

I feel so artistic now.

The pops were almost as much fun to eat as they were to decorate. I ate the dipped one, and the mixture of chocolate and strawberry was all that I’d hoped it would be. The chocolate did tend to break off of the pop in sheets, but I expect that the drizzled and piped pops won’t have that problem.

Comments on: "Day 46 — Chocolate Covered Strawberry Ice Pops" (1)

  1. Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

