A pop a day keeps boredom away!

Today was a gray and rainy day here, so I wanted an ice pop that hinted at the promise of Spring, while still being creamy and a little indulgent. Lemon and ricotta is a common combination that seemed to fit the bill, so:

This was one of those days where instead of trying to make 6 ounces of base (the amount in three ice pops), I improvised ingredients and just tried to focus on proportions. As often happens when I do this, I ended up with far more base than I needed, but a fair sense of the proportions involved.

I started with a large scoop (about 1/2 cup) of ricotta and the zest and juice of one lemon. I added a generous splash of milk (at least 1/4 cup) and about 2 tablespoons of powdered sugar, then blended the whole thing with a stick blender (my usual tiny food processor was in the dishwasher). I wish I had waited to stir the lemon zest into the blended mixture, so that it would be more prominent in the finished pops. As it was, the pops were fairly undistinguished from the outside, giving little hint of their flavor.

Today’s pop just didn’t work out. I wanted the pops to have a bright, sunny favor, but the lemon juice fell short of accomplishing that. And despite my diligent blending, the consistency of the ricotta gave the pops an almost chalky mouthful.

This is the second ricotta-based pop I have tried, and I haven’t liked either one of them. I think maybe the texture of ricotta doesn’t lend itself to frozen consumption.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

