A pop a day keeps boredom away!

Ok, folks, I promise I’m almost at the end of this strawberry kick. I think I only have two or three more lined up.

But today’s is totally worth sitting through another strawberry post, I promise. But first, a funny story. I’d swear I thought up the idea for this pop while I was putting the baby down for a nap. I was so excited and proud when it turned out well that I actually made my husband taste it. He did, agreed it was good, and said “you’re welcome for the idea.”

Um, what?

“Yeah, remember? The other night when you didn’t feel like making a pop and I offered to do it for you, and I said I’d mix the strawberries with Malibu?”

No, I did not remember. This is how tired/brain-dead I am lately. Not only did I totally blank on this conversation with my husband, but then I actually convinced myself that this pop was my own idea. Oy. If this baby doesn’t start sleeping soon, my posts may devolve to a series of random syllables.

Regardless of who had the idea, this is what I made tonight:

If you’ve seen my other posts about alcoholic pops, you know that generally I don’t think they’re worth it in the Zoku. In order for the pop to freeze right, you need such a low concentration of alcohol that there’s really not much point. However, for this pop, the booze is there for flavor rather than for its intoxicating properties.

For one pop, I used 3 or 4 strawberries (they were big), a teaspoon of sugar and about 2.5 teaspoons of Malibu. It took a little longer to freeze than most pops, but it did freeze firm.

Hey look, another solid red ice pop! Aren't you excited?

This pop was really, really nice. The flavor of the coconut rum didn’t come out until the end of each bite, but once it did, it was gooood. The pop was not too sweet, the alcohol not too strong. Exactly the right pop to eat while watching Grey’s on the DVR.

Comments on: "Day 117 — Strawberry Colada Ice Pops" (3)

  1. How do you feel about your Zoku? I’ve been toying with getting two of the two-pop units (there are four of us in the house), but the bad reviews I’ve read give me cause to pause. It looks so darn fun, though…and I think the bad reviews are because of user error/impatience. Are they worth it?

    • I really like it, and given that I use mine every single day, I like how it’s been holding up. If you have the freezer space, then I’d say go for it. It’s a lot of fun to be able to make ice pops on a whim.

      That said, I do see a lot of people who seem to have trouble with faulty products (there’s a commenter her who I think probably has a bad remover tool). That worries me, but from what I understand the company is pretty good about making things right.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

