A pop a day keeps boredom away!

I hope all you moms out there had a lovely Mother’s Day. I know I sure did — The Husband made me a lovely breakfast and showered me with presents, then took the kids over to his mom’s so I could putter around a blissfully quiet house. I used my time to finish The Bloggess’ book, which my sister sent me last week.  If you haven’t read it already, get it now.  You won’t be sorry.  Just don’t read it in front of your kids, because they will hear you laughing hysterically and you will be faced with the prospect of explaining what episiotomies have to do with Voldemort.  (though if you have a baby, you can read it in front of him, because he’ll just think you’re laughing at him, and he’ll start laughing too.)

Anyway, one  tradition we have in my family is that we spend the day with my in-laws, who I love and enjoy.  We have a  lobster dinner prepared by the men, and just generally hang out and have a nice time.  This year, we also had strawberry shortcake for dessert, and I decided to share it with all of you, in popsicle form:

Basic vanilla pop ingredients, plus strawberries and delicious pound cake.

I made the basic vanilla ice pop recipe, then diced up a little of the pound cake and one of the strawberries.  I tried to cram equal amounts of strawberries and cake into the molds, but some of the strawberries got stuck high up and precluded too much else from going in.  The resulting pops were good, but definitely could have used more of the add-ins.

I will admit, these do not even come close to being as good as the “real” dessert.  Still, as ice pops go, they’re quite nice.  You can’t really go wrong with cake and cream.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

