A pop a day keeps boredom away!

Thanks to my Produce Box, I have a fridge full of fresh, local fruit. I have blueberries, peaches, and the last of this year’s strawberries. With this kind of bounty, a celebration was in order. And what’s more celebratory than an ice pop? (you know, except for cupcakes and champagne).

I pureed the strawberries and blueberries with a little sugar and water, and the peaches with a splash of lemonade (in the hope that the acid would keep them from browning). Then I just started to make layers.

As you can tell, I wasn’t going for precision here. I just poured my layers without measuring. And because they were so thick, the peach and the blueberry layers made a mess. But since this ice pop was more about celebrating flavors than about beauty, I don’t mind.

And the flavors here were lovely. As I’ve mentioned before, I don’t think ice pops made with fresh blueberries and strawberries taste better than those that start with frozen fruit. But I do think the fresh peaches were key. They tasted so good that I think I’ll be making a peach lemonade ice pop tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

