A pop a day keeps boredom away!

I got the idea for this popsicle from a recipe in a magazine. I can’t remember which magazine, but I do seem to recall skimming the recipe then promptly forgetting it. But the idea stuck in my head and when my Produce Box contained blackberries this week, I knew what I was going to do with them:

I pureed about 10 blackberries with a generous scoop (probably 2 T) of plain yogurt and 2-3 teaspoons of honey. It made just shy of six ounces of very thick puree, so I added milk to thin the base out and to get us up to the six ounces needed to make three ice pops.

These may be the prettiest ice pops I’ve ever made. Just look at this gorgeous purple! (and trust me, the photos do not do them justice).

I wasn’t overly impressed with the taste of these ice pops, unfortunately. For one thing, there didn’t seem to be much of a distinct blackberry flavor. For another, my little Baby Bullet did a great job of breaking down the berries, but there were still tons of seeds. Eating the pop ended up being a much crunchier experience than I’d anticipated.

Comments on: "Day 165 — Blackberry, Yogurt & Honey Ice Pops" (1)

  1. so funny – i made whole frozen blueberry, plain yogurt, honey and apple juice to thin it just last night. just pulled the idea out of the air and they were a huge hit. and a beautiful lavender.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

