A pop a day keeps boredom away!

My baby isn’t going to be a baby much longer. He’s turning 10 months old this week, and he has already sworn off baby food. He wants nothing to do with being fed, and in fact seems a little insulted when I try it. So I have a few jars of baby food in my pantry, gathering dust. I figured they’d stay there until the next food drive, but today at the store I saw the cutest little baby ice pop molds, and I knew I had to have them. Just look:

Aren’t these just the cutest little things? It’s hard to tell from the photo, but these molds are tiny — I don’t think each one holds more than an ounce. But they’re relatively light and have easy-to-grip handles meant for babies. And they have the cleverest little linking system. They can either snap together as a set or be used one at a time. Basically, they seem well designed for their intended use by infants.

Check out a better view:

Just look how cute!

I filled one of the molds with carrot puree and threw it in the freezer. I think I’ll give it to the boy at breakfast tomorrow (patience, even until lunch time, is not one of my shining characteristics). The last time I gave him an ice pop he was utterly perplexed by it, but he’s whole months older now. I’m sure he’ll figure this one out more quickly.

Update 6/20/12:

I gave the baby his ice pop for breakfast this morning.  It went well:

Ok, let’s give this a try. I’m not letting go of my Cheerios, though.

 

Cheerios, schmeerios. I want both hands on this thing.

 

If I knew how, I’d be giving this two thumbs up.

 

I was really happy with how easy it was for the baby to hold his little pop.  He clearly liked it, to — he devoured the whole thing.  I’m so glad I have a use for all that leftover baby food!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

