A pop a day keeps boredom away!

I know I talk about alcohol kind of a lot on this blog, but honestly I don’t drink all that much these days. Maybe one or two drinks a week on a heavy week, so our household stash of alcohol doesn’t need refreshing often.

I think that’s why walking into the ABC store last week (to get rum for Sangria) felt a little overwhelming. Since when does vodka come in four frillion flavors? And since when is “whipped” a flavor? The woman at the checkout assured me that whipped vodka is the best thing since sliced bread (I half expect, by the way, to see a “sliced bread” flavored vodka at the store any day now). So today I decided to give it a try.

The stuff is indeed yummy. And just perfect for ice pops, I thought:

I used a half an ounce of the vodka to 1.5 ounces of pineapple juice. The pop took a long time to freeze It never froze hard, remaining instead a very firm slush. But the finished pop also came out out with this amazing pattern on it:

It reminded me of looking at diatoms through a microscope in high school. I’m sure there’s some scientific explanation as to why the pop would freeze like this, but I don’t remember enough of 10th grade chemistry to tell you what that explanation is.

Anyway, this pop tasted great. The whipped vodka is a very assertive flavor, so it outshone the pineapple, but not in a bad way. To my surprise, this ice pop also packed a whallop rather disproportionate to the amount of liquor it actually contained. I’m a little embarrassed to admit that it actually got me a little tipsy.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

