A pop a day keeps boredom away!

Those of you in the US are probably painfully aware that there’s a heatwave going on here. Pretty much the entire country is roasting, with temperatures climbing over 100 degrees where I am. So of course the AC chooses today to give up. It’s currently 83 degrees in my house and climbing, and it’s supposed to be even hotter out tomorrow.

If ever a situation called for ice pops, this is it.

I had originally planned to make a chocolate pop today, but in light of the thermostat, I wanted something cold and icy and in no way rich. Grape juice and lemonade seemed to fit the bill:

I decided to try a slanty pop again, since it had been a while. I didn’t measure (as you can tell), just kept switching the orientation of the Zoku as I poured my layers freehand. Still, they turned out nice enough:

You can see how hot it is in here — mere seconds out of the Zoku and already melting.

And they were cold. Blissfully cold. Today, that’s all I really wanted.

Comments on: "Day 181 — Grape Lemonade Ice Pops" (2)

  1. I LOVE LOVE LOVE your blog- our zoku has been getting mad use since we got it in march… I do have a question for you, as it seems you live in a warmer part of the country- as our temps rise, in having issues getting the pops to freeze as quickly, how long do yours take on average?

    • They take a little longer to freeze in the heat, but still only around 10 minutes. I noticed more that the Zoku seems to thaw more quickly (lots of condensation).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

