A pop a day keeps boredom away!

My Sister-in-Law (not the same one who gave me the pop maker) lives in Florida. This year, she decided to surprise her parents with a Christmas visit, and also brought along a huge bag of the starfruit that grows in her backyard. The minute I saw the starfruit, pop inspiration was born.

Now, it you’ve ever seen a starfruit, you know that basically their purpose in life is to decorate things. They’re just so pretty! They also happen to be delicious (a bonus) and I’m fairly certain they’re good for you, too.  They’re a natural for ice pops.

I made the girls’ ice pops with orange juice, but wanted a higher-contrast color for my own pop. I ended up using cranberry with a thin layer of orange juice for a sunrise effect.    The resulting pop was very refreshing.  I had been concerned that the slices of whole (unpeeled) fruit might turn out tough or difficult to eat, but it was fine.  I might consider adding (even more) sugar to the cranberry juice cocktail next time, as the chill seemed to sharpen the usually slight bitterness of the cranberry juice.

Anyway, here is is:

Pretty, huh?

Comments on: "Day 1 — Cranberry Starfruit" (2)

  1. Looks great!

  2. Ohhh. Ahhh. Wish I still lived one street over. I’d “pop” over. 🙂

Leave a Reply

