A pop a day keeps boredom away!

When I think of kiwi-strawberry flavor, I automatically think of Snapple. For some reason, when I was a kid I thought that Snapple’s strawberry kiwi drink was the height of exotic sophistication. I also thought it was a health drink. In fact, I was shocked when I realized a few years ago that Snapple is pretty much 100% pure crap. It even includes (or used to include) the food villain du jour, high fructose corn syrup.

Today’s pops are a frozen version of what I thought Snapple was back then — actual health food. The only ingredients are kiwi slices and pureed frozen strawberries. First, I used an offset spatula to place the kiwis along the sides of the pop molds. They froze and stuck almost instantly, leaving no room for error or adjustment.  I had to cut the tops off a few of the slices, since they stuck too close to the top edge of the molds:

There be kiwis

The kiwis also left a little residue behind once the pops were finished. Luckily, the Zoku cleans up easily. You’re not supposed to use water on it when it’s frozen, but you can easily use a dry paper towel to wipe/scrape up any food bits that get left behind.

Step two, of course, was to pour in the pureed strawberries.  And that was it!  Very simple, and the finished product looked really cool:

Honestly, these pops would have benefited from a shot of sugar. The strawberries were more tart than sweet.  As usual, though, the kids gobbled theirs down without complaint.  I think these pops will be killer in the spring when made with fresh-picked berries.

Leave a Reply

