A pop a day keeps boredom away!

I was feeling lazy today, so I decided to make an easy pop. And since the kids had already had a snack, I didn’t have to make it kid-friendly. Clearly, it was the perfect chance for a coffee pop!

Now, I’ve mentioned before that coffee and cocktail pops were basically the two reasons I wanted the Zoku, so it’s kind of amazing that it took me this long to make a coffee pop. I kept putting it off because I kept forgetting to make coffee early enough in the day to chill for afternoon pops. Today, I decided the heck with it and pulled out a packet of VIA. The coffee mix was pre-sweetened and cream was a given, but I felt like my pops needed a little something extra:

Wait, are those what I think they are?

Yes, those little beige spheres are Munchkins. I figured there must be a reason why coffee and doughnuts are so often paired together, and decided to see what happened if I put chunks of them in an ice pop (I confess, this is not entirely my own idea. Apparently, there’s an ice cream shop nearby that sells coffee and doughnut ice cream. I haven’t ever had it, but I have a friend who swears it’s wonderful).

This was an easy pop — I mixed half the packet of Via with 1/2 cup each water and cream. I poured it into the molds, pausing periodically to drop morsels of doughnut in.

Is your mouth watering? My mouth is watering.

These pops were incredible. The coffee part was as expected, but the doughnuts took them to a whole different level. The chunks maintained a really nice texture and added an additional pop (no pun intended) of sweetness to the slightly intense coffee. My only regret is that I didn’t use more of them (I divided one munchkin among the three pops).

For once, I am so glad my husband doesn’t eat ice pops. These babies are all mine, and I ain’t sharing.

Comments on: "Day 13 — Coffee Ice Pops (with a twist!)" (2)

  1. I’m glad you found a good use for Starbucks instant coffee, because that stuff is awful on its own!

    • I don’t mind it, especially the iced version. Of course, I drink all of my coffee with a ton of milk, so it makes it all taste pretty much the same.

Leave a Reply

