A pop a day keeps boredom away!

One of the side-effects of keeping a blog to document my ice pop making efforts is that I tend to resist “plain” pops. Vanilla pudding pops may be delicious, but they sure don’t photograph well.

Still, I have small kids, one of whom has recently decided that vanilla is the best flavor out there. At some point, I was going to have to make the vanilla pudding ice pops I’d been promising, and today ended up being the day.

Of course, that didn’t meal all the pops needed to be plain vanilla.

One of these things is not like the others.

For breakfast this morning, I’d make pancakes with blueberry sauce, and I had a few tablespoons of the sauce left over. I decided to see if I could swirl that into the pudding to make the pops a little more interesting.

I don’t have an ingredients shot today, but I used instant vanilla pudding mix, milk and frozen blueberries cooked with a tiny splash of lemonade. Specifically, I used 1/2 cup of the prepared pudding, 2 additional ounces of milk and probably an ounce of blueberry sauce. I’d thought that the pop molds held 2 ounces each, but I still had a bunch left over (a smarter person than I am would maybe have noted exactly how much was leftover, but I didn’t. Maybe tomorrow).

Anyway, as I mixed the pops, I started getting excited. In the cup, the blueberries made a lovely swirl in the yellowish pudding. Alas, (1) I forgot to take a picture of it, and (2) the pretty swirl disappeared when I poured the pops and I ended up with semi-swirly purple pops:

Pretty, if not exactly the effect I was going for.

The pops tasted really good. The blueberries added a nice fruity flavor to the pudding without completely taking over. I have a feeling I’ll be trying this with other fruits as this project continues.

Leave a Reply

