A pop a day keeps boredom away!

After a few days of indulgent ice pops, I wanted to make the kids a healthier pop today. We have an assortment of berries in the freezer, so I decided to make a simple pop of fruit purees.

I chose blueberry and raspberry:

The very complicated ingredients

I added a splash of lemonade to each berry to improve the texture and add sweetness. I also ended up adding a spoonful of plain yogurt to the blueberries because they were not blending smoothly. It helped a little.

I need to work on pouring layered pops well. I usually have a fair amount of whatever mix I’m using fall onto the sides of the pop molds, which makes the pops look sloppy. Also, this time I think I waited too long between layers and/or didn’t thin the purees out enough, because the pops had cracks between the layers. Still, they turned out pretty enough:

Cracky and drippy, but still kind of pretty

Taste-wise, these were nice.  The yogurt really added a lot of flavor to the blueberries and mellowed out their tartness.  I think next time, I’ll add some to the raspberry layers, too.

Comments on: "Day 15 — Raspberry-Blueberry Ice Pops" (1)

  1. I love the colors on this one!

Leave a Reply

