A pop a day keeps boredom away!

Day 18 — Chai Latte Pops

Today was a rough day. About 45 minutes into the big daughter’s homework-induced whinefest, the little daughter threw a doll stroller down the stairs.  That’s when I decided it was not going to be an “ice pops for everyone!” day. Which meant that I had a good opportunity to make an adults-only ice pop.

Sadly, I didn’t have any alcohol to experiment with (there are a fair number of champagne-based ice pops on Pinterest, so I know alcohol pops can be done and I have every intention trying them someday). I did, however, happen to have picked up this the other day:

I’m not generally a chai drinker, but I have a good friend who is. She had suggested chai ice pops, so when I saw the mix at Trader Joe’s, I decided to buy some for future pop adventures. Given how today turned out, I’m glad I did.

The directions on the mix say that to make iced chai, you need to use hot water then pour it over ice. Of course, I am not that patient. So I used cold milk and mixed. And mixed and mixed and mixed. And then I decided that any remaining lumps would remain to add textural interest to the pops. (I have never, ever claimed not to be lazy).


The finished pops looked boring, but were quite nice. The warm spices of the chai mix contrasted nicely with the chill of the pop. Eating it conjured up the feeling of rocking in a hammock on a hot summer day. It ended up being the nice little “vacation” I needed today.

(oh, and I barely noticed the lumps).

Comments on: "Day 18 — Chai Latte Pops" (1)

  1. I am so thrilled to have found your blog! I love my Zoku and needed more ideas. I’m making this exact pop tonight! Thank you for doing this!

Leave a Reply

