A pop a day keeps boredom away!

I love lemon bars. They may be my favorite dessert to bake, so it was only a matter of time before I tried to make them into ice pops:

Sweetened condensed milk, milk, lemon juice and graham crackers

I had two issues to work out in my translation — what ratios to use to make the pops work in the Zoku while still keeping the essence of lemon bars, and what to use as a stand-in for the crust.

As you can see from the photo, the crust part was easy; I just crushed up a graham cracker. The ratios were a little trickier. I ended up using 4 ounces of the sweetened condensed milk, 2 ounces of regular milk, plus the juice of one lemon (and a little bit of yellow food coloring to make them look more lemony). The base mixture ended up quite thick, but it was easily pourable, so I figured it would be ok.

Just as I did yesterday, I poured some base into the molds, then put in a layer of the graham cracker crumbs and filled the molds the rest of the way.

10 minutes later, and they were ready. I screwed the pop-release doohicky onto the first pop and turned it until this happened:

Whoops. Guess I should have used more milk.

I waited another minute before trying to extract the second pop, and it came out successfully, though it was still soft and unstable:

You can see I was too afraid to remove the pop-releaser before I took a photo.

My success with the second pop made me brave with the third one. Sadly, that bravery was unfounded:

Sad half-pop

I did, of course, eat the broken bits of pop, and they were delicious. They highlighted one of the big benefits to the Zoku — because it freezes pops so quickly, add-ins like cookies (and yesterday’s malt balls) don’t have time to absorb liquid and get soggy. So the graham crackers gave a nice counterpoint to the creamy and intensely-flavored base.

And luckily, I am confident that I will be able to re-create these pops one day with more success. It should be a simple matter of changing the condensed-to-regular milk ratio in the base mixture.

In the meantime, I am faced for the first time with the problem of having to thaw out my Zoku to clean it. I don’t know how long it will take to thaw sufficiently that cleaning is possible, but I’m guessing tomorrow’s pop is either going to be made late at night, or in a traditional ice-pop mold.

Comments on: "Day 23 — Lemon Bar Ice Pop Fail" (2)

  1. […] up with half a pot sitting around. I also had some sweetened condensed milk left over from the lemon bar pops, so I took a page from the Pioneer Woman’s handbook and made iced coffee pops.  I […]

  2. […] Honestly, I don’t know where the sweet/too sweet line lies yet.  I’ve been too risk averse.  But I know for sure that things like sweetened condensed milk are too sweet to be frozen straight.  They must be diluted rather drastically or else they’ll never get firm enough to pull from the molds.  (see my Lemon Bar experiment). […]

Leave a Reply

