A pop a day keeps boredom away!

It seems like every time I go to the store, there’s a new “milk” product out on the shelves. First it was soy milk, of course, then almond milk. A few months ago, coconut milk started showing up. I guess it was inevitable that someday someone would combine a few of them. So when I saw almond-coconut milk, I decided it was worth a shot. And it seemed like a good base for a tropical-ish pop:

you put the lime in the coconut...

For my first attempt at this pop, I mixed the juice of one lime into about 6 ounces of the almond-coconut milk. This is what happened:

Oh. Huh. Ew.

As Alton Brown would say, definitely not good eats.

For attempt #2, I needed something to make the lime mix into the coconut milk without curdling it. I had 2 ounces of sweetened condensed milk left over from last week’s lemon pops, so I decided to see if that would work. I ended up using the whole two ounces, another lime’s worth of juice, and 6 ounces of the coconut-almond milk (and a few drops of green food coloring to accentuate the “lime” look of the pops). The sweetness of the condensed milk worked, and this time it didn’t curdle.

The finished pops were great. The lime was nice and tangy, but the coconut flavor managed to shine through. I couldn’t taste any of the almond flavor, but frankly I couldn’t taste it in the plain milk when I tried it, either.

Forgive the wonky light in the photo. It was a really sunny afternoon.

You can’t really see it in the photo, but I also tried to put a slice of lime on the side of one of the pops.  Not only didn’t it work (citrus slices are really hard to get into the molds without making a mess), but the plain lime tasted way too sour.  Do not try it at home.

Leave a Reply

