A pop a day keeps boredom away!

Today’s pop is kind of a two-fer. I wanted to tweak my basic vanilla recipe, but I didn’t want to do a “plain vanilla” post. Luckily, a friend brought us some munchkins yesterday, and eating the chocolate cake ones gave me an idea:

Last time I tried vanilla pops, they turned out too icy, so I made these pops a little richer. I used 4 ounces of half & half to 2 ounces of regular milk, a small splash of vanilla extract and a generous 2 teaspoons of sugar.

I added the doughnuts to the pops by layering them in — I’d pour a little base, then stuff in a few chunks. Immediately pour more base, add more crumbs, lather, rinse and repeat. That gave me a decent distribution of doughnuts throughout the pops.

These pops were great. I think I have the base recipe right. Texture-wise, they’re still icier than my basic chocolate pops, but they still manage to be creamy. And while the base tasted quite sweet when I tried it before freezing, I don’t think the frozen pops ended up too sweet at all. I think this will be my keeper recipe.

Leave a Reply

