A pop a day keeps boredom away!

I was browsing the grocery store the other day when I came upon a shelf of packaged fruit purees. They seem tailor-made for ice pops — just fruit, unsweetened, in small portions, and best of all, inexpensive. Moreover, they came in interesting flavors, such as acai:

I confess I had no idea what acai is, except that it seems to be popping up in a lot of juices all of a sudden and is often hawked as rich in antioxidents. I figured it was worth a try so I bought it, then came home and looked acai up on the web. I confess, my only goal at the time was to figure out how to pronounce acai (it’s ah-sigh-ee, apparently). I learned that acai berries are the fruit of a palm tree and that their pulp is not actually sweet.

Given that information, I decided to blend my acai puree with blueberries and a generous spoonful of sugar. The resulting puree was a rich, dark purple that just begged to be decorated. I used apple slices to make cut-out stars for my pops:

I love the contrast here.

As to taste, have you ever had a really, really oaky Chardonnay? You know how it leaves your mouth all dry with kind of a woody aftertaste? These pops tasted like that. They needed a much higher ratio of blueberries to the acai. I didn’t finish mine, but as usual my girls finished theirs without a hint of complaint.

Leave a Reply

