A pop a day keeps boredom away!

My middle child turned three today, and I thought it would be fun to try to translate birthday cake into an ice pop. I didn’t want to do chunks of cake in a pop again. Instead, I wanted the pop itself to taste like cake. For safety reasons, using actual cake batter was out of the question. Luckily, there’s a place to go on the web to find recipes to oodles of different desserts meant to taste like batters and doughs. And that place, my friends, is Pinterest.

As expected, Pinterest did not fail me. There’s at least one recipe for cake batter dip out there, and it seemed simple enough. Only 3 (or 4) ingredients:

Cake mix, yogurt, Cool Whip and sprinkles

The recipe for this dip makes a single serving, with a 3,2,1 ratio (3 T cake mix, 2 T yogurt, 1 T Cool Whip). By the time it was scaled up for a full batch, though, the ratios changed to 1 box of cake mix, 1.5 cups of yogurt and 2 cups of Cool Whip. That’s the recipe I used (even though the ice pops only use a few tablespoons of dip, I made a full recipe to serve at the birthday party on Saturday).

Making these pops was a trial-and-error process.  I wanted to add sprinkles to the pop mixture to mimic the funfetti cake mix the original recipe called for.  But I mixed them in too soon, and they melted into the base.  That’s why the pop on the right is purple.  I mixed up a new batch, and for the middle pop I just threw the sprinkles directly into the mold.  For the pop on the left, I stirred them into the base right before I poured.  These, too, melted, giving the pop a swirly appearance.

The decoration is a piece of fruit leather cut with fondant cutters.  I applied them to the side of the mold with a butter knife.  As you can see, it’s an imperfect process — I had a hard time lining up the exclamation point properly.

Honestly, I can’t tell you how these pops taste.  I was too full from the “real” birthday cake to eat more dessert.  I can say that the dip tasted pretty good — just like cake batter.  So I assume the pops taste as good.

Leave a Reply

