A pop a day keeps boredom away!

Did y’all know that today is the Oreo cookie’s 100th birthday? Well, it is, and even though I have already made a cookies & cream ice pop, I couldn’t let this momentous occasion pass without commemorating it. So:

Leftover vanilla pudding, Birthday Cake Oreos, milk to thin out the pudding.

In related news, I got a really fun delivery last week:

This books is full of all sorts of fun ideas, many of which I am way too lazy to execute on my own (their chocolate base recipe calls for actual cooking, and you all know how I feel about that level of ice pop premeditation). But I did get an idea for today’s pop from the book. Zoku’s Cookies & Cream Pop recipe calls for sticking an entire cookie (well, half a cookie, you need to twist them apart because the whole cookie is too thick) to the side of the mold before pouring the base. So that’s what I did. It made for a really striking looking pop:

I didn’t add any additional cookie pieces to the pops, because the cookies were actually there more for the visual than to be a flavor. But I love the way that these pops turned out. The cookies remained so clear, despite the fact that I dipped them into my pudding base to make sure they’d stick to the molds. And, of course, they tasted great. A fitting tribute for a classic dessert.

Leave a Reply

