A pop a day keeps boredom away!

Happy Saint Paddy’s Day, Y’all! I hope everyone’s had fun celebrating in your own ways.

Over here, I decided that our largely family-friendly day needed to end with an adults-only treat. So:

Instant coffee, cream, brown sugar, whiskey.

Ok, so technically my “Irish Whiskey” is Kentucky bourbon. We’re more vodka people, so we don’t tend to keep whiskey in the house. And I didn’t want to buy a bottle of whiskey for the one teaspoon I needed. For today’s purposes, can we all agree that our bourbon was made by Irish Kentuckians?

Anyway, I started by making my instant coffee with 8 ounces of water and 1.5 tablespoons of brown sugar. I knew I’d have a lot of base left over, but I didn’t want to fuss with using only half of the packet of coffee.

Next, I sweetened about 2 tablespoons of the cream with a generous dash of sugar, for the cream layer to go on top of the coffee/whiskey layer.

As with any pop using alcohol, proportions are very important. I was actually only making one alcoholic pop and since the whiskey is a very strong flavor, I used barely a teaspoon of it (possibly closer to 2/3 teaspoon) for about 1.5 ounces of the coffee mixture.

I poured the cream layer into one of my pop molds, then got the coffee mixture ready for my non-alcoholic pops. I went to pour them…and totally forgot I had a layered pop started in my first mold. And that’s how I learned a second way to get a filled pop:

I totally meant to do that.

Luckily, the pop I messed up with the first one I poured, so I could go back immediately and fix my mistake. 10 minutes later, I had this:

Now, I have a confession — today’s pop was intended to be more of a “concept” pop. As I mentioned, I’m not much of a whiskey drinker, so I assumed I’d take one taste of this pop and then move on to the plain iced coffee pops I’d also made. But this pop surprised me — the brown sugar and the whiskey worked together to make an almost butterscotch flavor. I liked the pop so much I ate most of it.

Leave a Reply

