A pop a day keeps boredom away!

Today’s pop was a little bit of an experiment. I keep being captivated by the pretty ice pop photos I find on pinterest, especially the ones with lots of fruit in them. They’re just so pretty! I had to try something similar for myself:

kiwi, strawberries, apples, lemonade.

First, I diced the fruit into tiny little pieces, then I started the lengthy process of stuffing the Zoku molds with the fruit. I wasn’t able to use as much fruit as I really wanted (I’d envisioned pretty much all-fruit pops, glued together with a minimum of lemonade), but I was able to get a fair bit in there. Once I had them filled with fruit, I poured lemonade into the molds. I chose lemonade because it’s as neutral as possible, both in flavor and in looks.

Because these pops took a long time to put together, they froze one at a time, so I only have a photo of one of them:

These didn’t turn out as pretty as I’d hoped, but they sure tasted good! Even with rather lackluster fruit, the separate flavors really shone through. I’m looking forward to making these with good, in-season fruit. Just a few more weeks until strawberries!

Leave a Reply

