A pop a day keeps boredom away!

I just can’t give up on the idea of an ice pop full of fruit. In my head, it looks like a mosaic — gorgeous, colorful chunks of fruit, frozen together by the barest minimum of juice. I know the practicalities of the Zoku make this nearly impossible, but I can’t stop myself from trying:

We’re in the midst of (what I hope will be) our last box of clementines before fresh seasonal fruit becomes available, so I decided to see how they’d do in an ice pop. I used orange juice for the base because I feel like I”ve been using way too much lemonade lately.

To make the pop, I cut each clementine segment into thirds, then used a chopstick to push them down into the mold. One is was fairly full, I poured in the orange juice.

As you can see, these pops don’t look like a mosaic. I still couldn’t get as much fruit into the mold as I’d hoped. In this case, that turned out to be a good thing, since while clementines taste really great frozen, they get too stringy and tough to make an enjoyable pop.

I know there must be a way to make beautiful fruit pops, and I will find it. I have over 250 more days to try, after all…

Leave a Reply

