A pop a day keeps boredom away!

I’ve been playing with decorated ice pops again today. This time, I wanted to see if I could put a design around the outside of the pop:

These are some mint chocolate chips I found at Target. I decided to see if I could stick them on with water (I know I could use melted chocolate as “glue,” but right now I’m trying to test the boundaries of what water can do with ice pops).

I dipped each chip into a shallow bowl of water, then placed it on the ice pop (it’s the basic chocolate recipe). They stuck, but not instantly and not securely. I’d hoped to cover the pop completely with chips, for a spiky look, but water was definitely not the tool for that. As I started to take my photos of this pop, the chips started sliding off. I put it in the freezer to firm up for a few minutes and it helped a little. Still, as soon as I started eating the pop the chips began falling off. Guess the chocolate is really necessary.

And now, I need a little help from you. Next week is spring break, and I know I’m going to be very busy. I probably will still make a pop every day, but I am not at all confident that I will be able to post every day. I can pre-make some pops and set them to post daily, I can switch to an every-other-day schedule for the week, or I can take the week off. Those of you who are reading (and I know there are a few of you out there), leave me a comment and let me know your preference. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

