A pop a day keeps boredom away!

Sometimes a recipe surprises me, like today.  I still have a bunch of strawberries to use, and wanted to try a more sophisticated twist on the theme.  I’d heard of using balsamic vinegar on strawberries before, but I’d never actually tasted it before.  Still, it sounded good so I decided to give it a try:

I used a recipe I found online to get a general idea of the proportions involved.  It called for a pound of strawberries, 1/4 cup of sugar and 2 tablespoons of vinegar.  I scaled the recipe way down, of course, using 5 strawberries, a generous teaspoon of sugar and a scant teaspoon of vinegar.  This made enough puree to make one pop, with about an ounce left over.

I didn’t really know what to expect when I bit into this pop, so I was more than pleasantly surprised.  This pop was amazing.  The balsamic balanced so well with the sweetness of the strawberries, leaving no harsh taste of acid.  The pop’s texture was soft and luscious.  Overall, a smashing success.  I liked it so much that I made myself a big bowl of strawberries and balsamic vinegar for dessert tonight.  (this, as it happens, was a mistake.  A pop with vinegar in it is good.  A whole bowl of strawberries drizzled with vinegar is a recipe for stomach woe).

Comments on: "Day 110 — Strawberry Balsamic Ice Pops" (4)

  1. Have you considered balsamic vinegar and figs?

  2. The ones on our trees usually ripen in September.

  3. Donnelle said:

    Holy crap. These are amazing. I’m on a huge balsamic vinegar kick this week, I made a balsamic-date soda (INCREDIBLE), then an even-weirder soda called “Black Vinegar Water” (literally just mixing balsamic into seltzer water…it was weird, but kinda good, I think?), and then these (my two culinary art projects this year are fancy sodas and crazy pops). I can’t really taste the balsamic all that much (I even added a little more than you wrote here), but it makes the strawberry intensity insane.

Leave a Reply

