A pop a day keeps boredom away!

Before I got my Zoku, I used to buy my kids Popsicles. I like the brand because they sell the most brilliant ice pops for kids — tiny little guys that melt more slowly than regular popsicles.  The “secret ingredient” that apparently makes them slow-melt is gelatin.

Today, I decided to try to make Jello pops, to see if they’d work the same way:

Don't be intimidated by the incredibly complex ingredient list.

To be honest, I’m not a huge fan of Jello.  I have fond memories of making (and liking) it as a kid, but as an adult, it just reminds me of being in the hospital.  But most of that has to do with the peculiar texture, so I hoped an ice pop would have fewer hospital associations.

I made the Jello according to the package directions, then poured it directly into the molds.  It took a long time to freeze; I assume because the Jello was still warm when I poured it.  Then, once it was frozen, it felt so soft that I was worried the pops wouldn’t unmold, but they did come out ok:

These turned out to be really fun pops.  They tasted almost exactly like Popsicles to me.  Even the texture resembled commercially-made pops (no surprise, I guess, because Jello is basically sugar and gelatin mixed with a bunch of artificial flavors and colors).  They’re not a healthy choice, but I can see them as an occasional treat for me and the kids, especially in the summer.

I ate my pop pretty quickly, so I don’t know yet if they are slow-melt pops.  I plan to give the others to the kids tomorrow, so we’ll see then.

Leave a Reply

