A pop a day keeps boredom away!

My daughters have been begging me for weeks now to buy watermelon. I guess they’re as tired of apples, bananas and oranges as I am by now. Still, I have been putting them off because I just don’t want to waste money on sure-to-be-substandard watermelon out of season.

This week, though, I finally gave in (at least it was grown in the US). To my surprise, it was actually quite sweet. So of course, I had to make it into an ice pop:

I didn’t add anything to the fruit for this pop, just pureed it up plain. I also left it the tiniest bit chunky so the pop would have bits of whole fruit in it.

I really wanted to like these pops. They were gorgeously pink and had a really nice texture. But the taste was oddly flat. I think these either require amazing fruit or an additional ingredient to jazz them up.

Leave a Reply

