A pop a day keeps boredom away!

I made my monthly pilgrimage to Trader Joe’s the other day, and came across a huge display of “Cookie Butter.” Actually, there were several displays — my TJs is pushing the stuff hard. Anyway, if you’ve been reading this blog for any length of time, you know that my ears perk up any time I see something new. I had to investigate.

So, this stuff. It’s like peanut butter, if peanut butter was made from ground-up nutter butters and was totally devoid of nutritional merit. I mean it — it’s a spread/dip made from ground-up cookies.  It makes Nutella look as nutritious at Nutella commercials would like us all to believe it is.  It’s absolutely horrific, from a dietary point of view.

It’s kind of a shame that it’s this delicious.

I guess I shouldn’t be surprised.  Again, ground-up cookies.  It had a pretty good chance at being yummy.  The predominant flavor is of caramelized sugar (is that redundant?), nice and toasty.  The texture is silky smooth, but with tiny grains of cookie throughout.  It’s so good that two days after I bought it, somehow almost a third of the jar is gone.  I figured I’d better go ahead and pop-ify it soon before I managed to eat the rest of the jar:

I strongly advice against reading the nutritional information and/or the ingredients list. Trust me, you’ll be happier not knowing.

 

As usual when I play with a new ingredient, I was cautious with regard to the proportion of milk to the creamy ingredient. I ended up using a generous teaspoon of the spread and about 1.5 ounces of milk (I eyeballed it, and ended up with enough for one pop and a little bit leftover.

This pop was as delicious as I expected, though not in the same way that I’d expected, if that makes any sense.  I had thought the taste of the cookie would shine through, and it dd to a certain extent.  But the milk really takes the intensity down several notches.  But the texture and the flavor were spot on.  I think this is the closest I have ever come to making a pop that truly tastes like ice cream.  It was nice and creamy, with a non-overwhelming flavor.  It was a pretty terrific treat to end a long, hot day.

Leave a Reply

