A pop a day keeps boredom away!

Back when I was working, one of my favorite gifts to give was expensive, unusual chocolates. One of my favorite places to order from was Vosges, because their stuff was so different and so beautiful looking. Still, as many times as I have given Vosges as a gift, I think I’ve only tasted their chocolate once.

But Vosges also sells hot chocolate mix, and that I had to have. I hinted and begged and pleaded, and finally one Christmas, the Husband listened and I found this in my Christmas stocking:


The pack came with three flavors of hot chocolate — a Parisian-style dark chocolate, a white chocolate infused with herbs, and one called “red fire,” with dark chocolate, cinnamon and chili peppers in it, modeled on the chocolate the Aztecs drank. I immediately drank the first two (the white chocolate was AMAZING), but the Aztec chocolate languished in my pantry, waiting for me to be in just the right mood for it.

That’s taken a while, since these mixes were not from Christmas 2011. Finally, I decided to make an ice pop out of the red fire mix. Normally, I’d balk at putting something expensive and fancy in the Zoku (though I’m not quite sure why), but I figured at this point, it’s better to use the stuff than let it sit forever.

I heated one cup of milk, and whisked in three tablespoons of the chocolate. I let it sit for a few minutes, then cooled it in the freezer for about 10 additional minutes, just so I wouldn’t be pouring hot liquid into the Zoku. The popscicles came out looking terrific:

Alas, I was not a fan of these. There’s nothing wrong with them as such, I just prefer my chocolate sweeter and a lot less intense. Andi it turns out I’m really not fond of spicy chocolate. Seems to jarring a combination to me.

It just occurred to me that this was the third ice pop in a row that I haven’t liked. Tomorrow, I’d better make a sure-fire winner. Any ideas?

Comments on: "Day 140 — Aztec Hot Chocolate Ice Pops" (3)

  1. My current favourite is chocolate milk mixed together with a thick berry smoothie and then poured into the Zoku.

  2. Rachel Burstyn said:

    I am really enjoying your blog! My favorite pop is chocolate pudding, thinned with milk or water, mint extract, and crushed oreos.

  3. Rachel and Dawn, those both sound great! I will have to try them.

Leave a Reply

