A pop a day keeps boredom away!

Today’s pop was inspired by Rachel’s comment on yesterday’s post. I really needed a good pop today after three straight days of duds, and she suggested chocolate pudding with mint and Oreos. It sounds terrific, and I have every intention of making that specific pop someday soon, but in the meantime, I couldn’t stop thinking about Oreos. So I decided to do a twist on Rachel’s idea and throw Oreos into my chocolate ice pop base recipe.

I crushed up two Oreos to make three ice pops, and made the pops by alternating small layers of the base with generous sprinkles of cookie pieces. You can clearly see the layers in the finished pops:

These were every bit as delicious as you’d expect them to be. Because the pops froze so quickly, the cookies stayed really crispy so the popsicle had great texture. And, of course, the combination of the two chocolate flavors was perfect. I’m glad I made three of these (and that the kids are asleep and can’t claim their share).

Comments on: "Day 141 — Chocolate Oreo Ice Pops" (4)

  1. Looks great! I would love to try some. I love Oreos.

  2. Rachel Burstyn said:

    yay! glad you enjoyed.

  3. Looks yummy! How much of each ingredient do you use? I just got my Zoku and am looking for some recipes. Thanks!

    • For three pops, I use three ounces each of milk and half & half, a heaping spoonful (just my regular kitchen teaspoon) of Ovaltine and I think 2 oreos.

Leave a Reply

