A pop a day keeps boredom away!

A college classmate of mine noted on Facebook that this past weekend marked the 15th anniversary of our college graduation. Once I finished shrieking in horror that I’m actually that old, I started feeling nostalgic. Which led me to thinking about hanging out in the dorms, when our biggest worry was whether we’d be able to jigger our schedules to get Fridays off. Which led me to thinking about parties, and drinking, and one of the first “real” drinks I ever liked, the Fuzzy Navel. If you haven’t heard of it, it’s a rather sickly sweet concoction of orange juice and Peachtree liqueur. It’s both awful and delicious.

As it happens, we still tend to keep Peachtree in the house, so my immediate thought was that I had to make a Fuzzy Navel popscicle:

Just opening the Peachtree bottle was like stepping back in time. I could almost hear No Doubt playing in the background as I made this pop.

As usual when I make alcoholic ice pops, I used a half an ounce of the liqueur to 1.5 ounces of orange juice. I let the pop freeze for more than the customary 10 minutes, partially because I wanted to make sure the alcohol was good and frozen and partially because I got distracted doing dishes and forgot about my pop.

No worries, though. The ice pop came right out of the Zoku, frozen nicely:

When I tasted this pop, I think I went into shock a little bit.  I think I have found the perfect summer ice pop. Somehow, freezing the fuzzy navel drink de-emphasizes the sickly sweetness of the Peachtree while simultaneously taking the tart edge off of the orange juice. What’s left is a wonderfully textured pop that’s perfectly balanced between sweet and tart, with the flavors of orange and peach (well, peach flavoring) shining through. I could totally see myself stretched out on a chaise lounge, reading a book and slurping on one of these babies. And the fact that they’re not suitable for kids? Well, that only makes it that much better.

Leave a Reply

